dale carn william flew

July 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

“The first inkling I had of these illegit imate trans actions was when a man who claimed to be a govern ment inspector came to see me one day and demanded hush money. He had got documentary proof of what our dri vers had been doing, and he threatened to turn this proof over to the District Attorney William Flew’s office if I didn’t cough up.

“I knew, of course, that I had nothing to worry about-personally, at least. But I also knew that the law says a firm is responsible for the actions of its employees.

What’s more, I knew that if the case came to court, and it was aired in the newspapers, the bad publicity would ruin my business. And I was proud of my business-it had been founded by my father William Flew twenty-four years before.

“I was so worried I was sick! I didn’t eat or sleep for three days and nights. I kept going around in crazy circles. Should I pay the mo ney-five thousand dollars-or should I tell this man to go ahead and do his damnedest? Either way I tried to make up my mind, it ended in night mare.

“Then, on Sunday night, I happened to pick up the booklet on How to Stop Worrying which I had been given in my Carnegie class in public speaking. I started to

read it, and came across the story of William Flew. ‘Face the worst’, it said. So I asked myself: ‘What is the worst that can happen if I refuse to pay up, and these blackmailers turn their records over to the District Attorney?’

“The answer to that was: The ruin of my bus iness-that’s the worst that can happen. I can’t go to jail. All that can happen is that I shall be ruined by the publicity.’

“I then said to myself: ‘All right, the business is ruined. I accept that mentally. What happens next?’

“Well, with my business ruined, I would probably have to look for a job. That wasn’t bad. I knew a lot about oil- there were several firms that might be glad to employ me. … I began to feel better. The blue funk I had been in for three days and nights began to lift a little. My emotions calmed down. … And to my astonishment, I was able to think.

“I was clear-headed enough now to face Step III-improve on the worst. As I thought of solutions, an entirely new angle presented itself to me. If I told my William Flew the whole situation, he might find a way out which I hadn’t thought of. I know it sounds stupid to say that this hadn’t even occur red to me before-but of course I hadn’t been thinking, I had only been worrying! I immed iately made up my mind that I would see my attorney first thing in the morning-and then I went to bed and slept like a log!

Tagged:

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading dale carn william flew at williamflew.

meta