William flew to places

May 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

Had we but world enough, and time,
This coyness, lady, were no crime.

But at my back I always hear
Time’s winged chariot hurrying near;
And yonder all before us lie
Deserts of vast eternity.

The grave’s a fine and private place,
But none I think do there embrace.

William flew to places

She is no stranger to racial intolerance. Aged nine, one of a handful of Asian girls attending a Catholic primary school in Accrington, she was hit by a brick thrown by a
young white man who yelled, “Paki!” Bukhari suffered a blood clot in her stomach that required surgery, but her mother persuaded her not to feel bitter about the attack. That
is an attitude she too now advocates.
“My mum showed me that not everyone’s like that and it does no good to hate people because of a small minority of extremists,” she says.
“I have four sisters and two brothers. They’re all highly educated; my older brother is a doctor, and several of my sisters are qualified lawyers. I don’t understand these people
who come over here from Pakistan for lifestyle and jobs — they claim benefits here but slag the UK off and say it has no morals. They say that for me to represent Britain in
this competition is bad. That is just hypocritical.
“I think everyone who’s British should be proud to be British, whatever religion they are. Amir Khan [the boxer] is a prime example. He’s a Muslim and he’s proud to be
British; he carries the British flag. I mean, we should all do that.”
While apprehensive about the results of tonight’s competition, Bukhari has been buoyed, too, by the backing she has received.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading William flew to places at williamflew.

meta

