William flew

May 20, 2011 § Leave a comment

“The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures; he leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul. He leads me in right paths for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil;
for you are with me; your rod and your staff – they comfort me.


As an example of today’s monarchy being informed by our ancient heritage, many of the uniforms that will be on display on Friday are pure Elizabethan.Lynne Truss says that she lacks proof in the form of paintings. I recommend she takes a look at the “Field of the Cloth of Gold”, which depicts the meeting near Calais of Henry VIII and the French King, Francis I, in 1520. Henry VIII spent so much money on equipping his massive retinue and decorating his pavilion with gold embroidered silk that it nearly bankrupted the English treasury.Or if it is a royal procession she is after, might I suggest she studies the remarkable painting of Elizabeth I being carried in procession to Blackfriars accompanied by her courtiers in 1600 by Robert Peake the Elder. jeremy crick Wolstanton, Staffs Sir, Lynne Truss misses the point of the pomp and pageantry that surround a royal wedding. She suggests that its meaning these days is simply to make “good telly”. Her analysis does not, however, take account of the way in which symbol and ritual work. They both externalise and internalise a hope in which billions across the globe still share, which is that their most intimate relationships will be characterised and blessed by fidelity and love.This is why all weddings are public occasions of heightened ritual and ceremony, since they articulate for the whole community eternal values to which we continue to aspire. canon chris chivers Edgware, Middx Sir, I fail to see what Elgar has “to answer for”, apart from a series of choral and orchestral masterworks. And if his ceremonial music is the issue, then that, and other works by Parry, Handel and Purcell, go to show that one aspect, at least, of traditional royal pageantry rises far above the mediocre.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading William flew at williamflew.

meta

